Defined as self control, forbearance, or any great rule or duty. It can also be interpreted as ‘attitude’ or ‘behaviour’. A particular attitude can be expressed as discipline, which then influences our behaviour. Behaviour patterns or relationships between the individual and the outside world.

There are five different YAMA’S…


  • AHIMSA (Harmlessness) To not injure or show cruelty to any creature or person in any way whatsoever. Kindness, friendliness, and thoughtful consideration of other people and things.
  • SATYA (Truthfulness) To speak the truth. To consider what we say, how we say it, and in what way it could affect others. Only speak the truth which is pleasant. Do not speak unpleasant truths.
  • ASTEYA(Non-Stealing) Take nothing that does not belong to you by right of consciousness and karma
  • BRAHMACHARYA (Sense Control) Movement towards the essential truth, used mostly in the sense of abstinence, particularly in relationship to sexual activity. We should form relationships that foster our understanding of the highest truths. If sensual pleasures are part of those relationships, we must take care that we keep our direction and do not get lost. Follow responsible behaviour with respect to our goal of moving towards the truth.
  • APARIGRAHA ( Neutralising the desire to acquire and hoard wealth) ‘Hands off’ or ‘not seizing opportunity’. Take only what is necessary and don’t take advantage of a situation or act greedy. Take only what you have earned, if we take more we are exploiting someone else. Unearned rewards can bring with them obligations that might later cause problems.
  • [/arrow_list]

    Parigraha is the increasing orientation towards material things. The less time we spend on our material possessions, the more we have to spend on investigating all that we call Yoga. We will learn to enjoy what we have rather than constantly seeking things we don’t have and never being satisfied in life. It is a SCIENTIFIC FACT that the more money and material possessions we have, the more stressful we become.

    When these five behaviours outlined become part of a person’s daily life they become kinder and more considerate, our presence will create pleasant and friendly feelings in people around us.

    And if we remain true to the idea of SATYA (Truthfulness) everything we say will be truthful. We will become trustworthy.



    A series of steps and disciplines which purify the body and mind leading one to enlightenment

    YAMA ~ One’s attitude towards others

    NIYAMA~ One’s attitude towards one’s self

    ASANA ~ Postures

    PRANAYAMA ~ Breathing

    PRATYAHARA ~ Sensory Inhibition

    DHARANA ~ Focus

    DHYANA ~ Meditation

    SAMADHI ~ Blissful absorption of one’s individual consciousness in the essence of the universe

    Dates to be announced soon!

    The mountains bring peace to the people. Le Badney 1881/ Morillon is a newly renovated Chalet located in the Haute-Savoie region of the French Alps.

    Drawing closer to freedom with Jenni Caruana. A very focused and intense way of seeing which can lead to a very deep state of relaxed concentration, very close to meditation but with the active element of drawing woven into it.


    MichelleBartoloYoga is taking to the park in London soon!
    This class is open for all peeps of all ages and bendy levels…
    Date to be announced soon!

    The Yoga Session will last for 1.15hrs and is FREE for all.

    This season my aim is to show you what Yoga is ON and OFF the mat. Immersed in natural settings that will leave you feeling more tranquil than you can imagine as we venture to the mountains in Spain and France.

    Start and end your day with Yoga & enjoy the daily beautiful guided hikes.

    We are 100 meters from the biking / hiking trail called the Senda del Oso.


    Asana means staying or abiding. It is through asana that an individual achieves the unity of body and mind.

    The Yogic Asana’s (postures) have been devised for the purpose of comfort and steadfastness during mediation and pranayama. Each posture reflects a mental attitude, whether it be one of surrender, the strengthening of will or the creation of a physical mantra with the body. Through the performance and practice of different asana’s one is able to learn the handling of different situations.

    Another important aspect of asana is that it can temporarily bring peace and free the mind of all worries. The quieting of mind promotes the balancing of the mental functions of the individual. Asana’s have great healing implications. The asana and pranayama practices bring about the desired state of health in an individual. It also helps in control of breath. Asana’s harmonize the flow of energy in the organism, thereby lifting the spirits of the individuals practicing.

    * Information derived from


    A Sanskrit word meaning rules or laws. These are the rules prescribed for personal observance. Niyama is more intimate and personal compared with the other Yamas. They refer to the attitude we adopt towards ourselves.


  • SAUCA : this is the first Niyama which means cleanliness. Sauca has both inner and outer aspect. Outer cleanliness is simply keeping ourselves clean. Inner cleanliness has as much to do with the healthy, free functioning of our bodily organs as with the clarity of our mind. Practicing asanas or pranayama are essential means for attending to this inner sauca
  • SAMTOSA:  Modesty and the feeling of being content with what we have. Literally the word means HAPPINESS! There are occasions we work hard to get something. We get very dissappointed when we don’t get it. This happens because we do not have the discipline to be content with what we have. We should accept that there is a purpose for everything- Yoga calls it KARMA. In ‘Celestine Prophecy’ James Redfield calls this synchronicity. Literally SAMTOSA is to ‘accept what happens.’
  • TAPAS:  Refers to the activity of keeping the body fit or to confront and handle the inner urges without outer show. Literally it means to heat the body and, by so doing, to cleanse it. Through Tapas lies the idea that we can get rid of the rubbish in our body. another form of tapas is paying attention to the foods we eat. Attention to body posture, attention to eating habits, attention to breathing patterns-all help to prevent the buildup of rubbish in the body, including excess weight and shortness of breath. Tapas gives us the discipline of developing healthy eating habits and prevents us from getting high cholesterol, high blood pressure and heart disease.
  • SVADHYAYA:  this fourth Niyama means SELF or ‘belonging to me.’ Adhyaya means inquiry or examination. The literal meaning is ‘to get close to something.’ To get close to yourself, to study yourself. It teaches us to be centered and non reactive to the dualities, to born out unwanted and destructive tendencies. All learning, all reflection, all contact that helps you to learn more about yourself is Svadhyaya, translated as ‘the study of ancient texts’